Shanghai Dumpling Search

While in Shanghai,  my friends and I decided to go on a search for Yang’s dumpling.  My culinary extraordinaire friend had read about them in a review… and with a vague knowledge of the street name we set off!  We had already walked about 15 km that day around the city of Shanghai and we only had 45 minutes left until we had to meet our group and go to dinner.  So searching for a dumpling shop in the city of dumpling shops in 45 minutes seemed a little ambitious .

photo 2(1)

This place seems like a winner with huge queue outside and of course some  Chinese  writing that must’ve said Yang’s dumpling.  With 15 minutes to go we joined the queue to buy the dumplings and for me a much-needed  Coca-Cola.  The other two in the group had a look farther down the street just in case we hadn’t found the right Yang’s dumpling .   They found it – and we were in the wrong place!  But too late, we had already ordered and had to be at our hotel in 10 minutes .  So we grabbed the dumplings and ran, taking the Coca-Cola with us .   The others stayed behind as they had already ordered from the real Yang’s dumpling .

It wasn’t easy hightailing it through the streets of Shanghai with a box of  something you are trying to eat that’s quite a bit messy but we made it .  Shortly after the other two turned up and informed us that they got in trouble on my behalf – as I had taken my glass bottle of soft drink with me instead of leaving it behind to be recycled … Whoops!

And the verdict was that their dumplings were better!  So we returned the next day with much more time up our sleeves to fully enjoy the semi fried, liquid filled delicious balls of Yang’s dumplings .

photo 5

 

Disclaimer:  Shanghai was before my trip to Xi-an when I went to a dumpling banquet.  13 courses – all dumplings .  That was over 18 months ago and I haven’t eaten a dumpling since.  I am truly scarred and may never eat a dumpling again . But if I ever found myself in Shanghai again I could probably make an exception and go to Yang’s  dumpling.

photo 1(1)